XXL has revealed their 2016 freshman. The group is labeled as "The New Wave" and consist of: 

  • Lil Uzi Vert
  • G Herbo
  • 21 Savage
  • Lil Dicky
  • Kodak Black
  • Anderson Paak
  • Lil Yachty
  • Dave East
  • Desiigner
  • Denzel Curry

XXL knows they can't please everyone, as someone is bound to be upset over not seeing their favorite new artist on the cover. Editor-In-Chief Vanessa Satten knows this and said, "There's been some controversy going into. It's always about who you're going to pick, who you missed, who didn't get it, who fits in with who who's a rapper, who's a singer. But overall, I think it's a great reflection of 2016 hip-hop."

Did your favorite new artist make the cut?